Midnight Oil to Embark on First Tour in More Than 20 Years, Release Archival Collections

Esteemed Australian rockers Midnight Oil will tour the world in their Great Circle Tour 2017, concluding in Australia this October and November.

The announcement comes after years of silence from Midnight Oil, aside from two stadium benefit concerts in 2005 and 2009. It is also timed to coincide with the release of massive archival collections, including all of the group’s existing albums and EPs in a set called The Full Tank, but also 14 hours worth of previously unreleased material, in what is to be called The Overflow Tank.

Midnight Oil reached global prominence in the 80s and 90s, with their brand of jaunty Australian rock strongly tied to messages of social responsibility soaring up the charts worldwide.

The tour will take Midnight Oil to 14 countries over four continents, starting with Brazil this April. From there, the outspoken rock group will tour through Canada and the US in May, then head to Europe throughout June and July, take a break in August, and continue on to New Zealand in September, finishing up with 18 shows across Australia in October and November.

midnight-oil-great-circle-2017-adelaide-review

Appropriately for the band, the Australian leg of the tour will begin in the red centre at Alice Springs, before heading North to Darwin, circling across to Queensland, and down the east coast.

Pre-sale tickets for The Great Circle 2017 tour will go on sale from Thursday, February 23, and are available to people signed up to Midnight Oil’s mailing list, with a release to the general public from Monday, February 27.

Full Tour Dates Below

Australia

Mon 2 Oct | ANZAC Oval, Alice Springs, NT (18+*)
With Dan Sultan & Apakatjah
ticketek.com.au

Wed 4 Oct | Darwin Amphitheatre, Darwin, NT (18+*)
With Dan Sultan & Irrunytju Band
ticketek.com.au

Sat 7 Oct  | Kuranda Amphitheatre, Cairns, QLD (18+*)
With Urthboy
ticketek.com.au

Tue 10 Oct | Townsville Entertainment Centre, Townsville, QLD (All Ages)
With Urthboy
tecc.net.au

Thu 12 Oct | Great Western Hotel, Rockhampton, QLD (18+*)
With Urthboy
ticketek.com.au

Sat 14 Oct | Big Pineapple Fields, Sunshine Coast, QLD (18+*)
With The Living End & Jebediah
ticketek.com.au

Sun 15 Oct | Riverstage, Brisbane, QLD (All Ages)
With The Jezabels
ticketmaster.com.au

Thu 19 Oct | Hockey Fields, Coffs Harbour (18+*)
With Jebediah & Jack River
ticketek.com.au

Sat 21 Oct | Hope Estate, Hunter Valley, NSW (18+*)
With Birds of Tokyo & Ash Grunwald
ticketek.com.au

Tue 24 Oct | AIS Arena, Canberra, ACT (All Ages)
With Something For Kate
ticketek.com.au

Thu 26 Oct | The Village Green Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, SA (All Ages)
With Spiderbait & Bad//Dreems
ticketek.com.au

Sat 28 Oct | Perth Arena, Perth, WA (All Ages)
With Spiderbait
ticketek.com.au

Wed 1 Nov | Derwent Entertainmnent Centre, Hobart, TAS (All Ages)
With The Jezabels
ticketmaster.com.au

Fri3 Nov | Gateway Lakes, Wodonga, VIC (18+*)
With The Living End
ticketmaster.com.au

Sat 4 Nov | Hanging Rock, Mt Macedon, VIC (18+*)
With John Butler Trio, Something for Kate, Frank Yamma & David Bridie
ticketmaster.com.au

Mon 6 Nov | Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne, VIC (All Ages)
With The Jezabels & Adalita
ticketmaster.com.au

Wed 8 Nov | Win Entertainment Centre, Wollongong, NSW (All Ages)
With Abbe May
ticketmaster.com.au

Sat 11 Nov | The Domain, Sydney, NSW (18+*)
With John Butler Trio & A.B.Original
ticketek.com.au

 

World Tour Dates

SOUTH AMERICA
Tue 25 Apr | Pepsi on Stage, Porto Alegre
Thu 27 Apr | Live, Curtiba
Sat 29 Apr | Espaço das Americas, São Paolo
Sun 30 Apr | Vivo Rio, Rio De Janeiro
Tue 2 May | NET Live, Brasilia

NORTH AMERICA
Sat 6 May | Center Stage, Atlanta, GA
Tue 9 May | The Filmore, Silver Spring, MD
Thu 11 May | House of Blues, Boston, MA
Sat 13 May | Webster Hall, New York City, NY
Tue 16 May | Keswick Theatre, Glenside, PA
Thu 18 May | The Vic, Chicago, IL
Sat 20 May | Danforth Theatre, Toronto, Canada
Tue 23 May | Paramount Theatre, Denver, CO
Thu 25 May | The Wiltern, Los Angeles, CA
Sat 27 May | Fox Theatre, Oakland, CA
Mon 29 May | Revolution Hall, Portland, OR
Wed 31 May | Moore Theatre, Seattle, WA
Fri 2 June | The Commodore, Vancouver, Canada

EUROPE + UK
Wed 21 Jun | E-Werk, Cologne, Germany
Fri 23 Jun | Paradiso, Amsterdam, Holland
Sun 25 Jun | Huxleys Neue Welt, Berlin, Germany
Tue 27 Jun | Amager Bio, Copenhagen, Denmark
Thu 29 Jun | Rockafeller Music Hall, Oslo, Norway
Sat 1 Jul | Furuviksparken, Gävle, Sweden
Tue 4 Jul | Hammersmith Apollo, London, UK
Thu 6 Jul | Olympia, Paris, France
Fri 7 Jul |  Festival de Beauregard, Hérouville-Saint-Claire, France
Sun 9 Jul | Les Deferlantes Festival, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Wed 12 Jul |  Volkshaus, Zurich, Switzerland
Fri 14 Jul |  Musilac, Aix Les Bains, France
Sun 16 Jul | Les Vieilles Charrues, Carhaix, France
Tue 18 Jul | Batschkapp, Frankfurt, Germany
Fri 21 Jul | Colours of Ostrava, Ostrava, Czech Republic

NEW ZEALAND
Sat 9 Sep | Vector Arena, Auckland, NZ
Mon 11 Sep | Horncastle Arena, Christchurch, NZ

X