Books

christopher-bollen-the-destroyers-book-adeaide-review

Book Review: The Destroyers

A modern literary thriller in the vein of Patricia Highsmith and Graham Greene with a hint of Bret Easton Ellis nihilism, Christopher Bollen’s latest novel The …

john-sandford-golden-prey

Book Review: Golden Prey

Roger Hainsworth enjoys John Sandford’s crime-fuelled thriller, Golden Prey, which sends Lucas Davenport down a fresh rabbit hole of drugs, heists and act…

secret-life-andrew-o-hagan-book-adelaide-review

Book Review: The Secret Life

The ‘three true stories’ that make up Andrew O’Hagan’s new collection of essays The Secret Life is a vital look at the reality of self in the cyber age.…

colonel-light-beautiful-obscure-luke-stegemann-adelaide-review

Colonel Light’s Spanish Connection

In the early nineteenth century, joining the local forces fighting Napoleon in Spain was a group of British soldiers and engineers who would later be central to…

dead-souls-angela-marsons-book-adelaide-review-2

Book Review: Dead Souls

14 months ago I read and enthusiastically reviewed Angela Marsons’ Lost Girls. Her plot was so gripping, her story so well told, that I promptly got hold of two…

rather-be-the-devil-cropped-ian-rankin-adelaide-review

Book Review: Rather be the Devil

John Rebus is back in Rather be the Devil along with several characters from earlier novels, including DI Siobhan Clarke, and former Complaints Department chief…

john-safran-depends-what-you-mean-by-extremism-adelaide-review

John Safran’s Muslim Jamboree

John Safran has spent more than two decades flourishing in the weird fringes of Australian pop culture, often going to darkly comic extremes in the process. So …

blood-sweep-steven-f-havill-adelaide-review

Book Review: Blood Sweep

It is some time since I reviewed a new book by Steven Havill in his justly celebrated Posadas County series. This is most unfair of me. I have been a devoted Ha…

X